Dappled

His grey back melts into the sky
Faces reflect in the glass
A black dog rides at our feet
My laces catch in the door
And I’m
Stuck
Distorted in the brass
Bloody iron and juices turn sweet

Lotuses fly and land on my wrinkled palm
My breath sends them floating
Glassed flowers hold flickering light
A raindrop falls on his nose
I stroke it off
Windy tears cloud our desperate sight

My hands melt into his
Dappled skin
Grips the rains
Flood water divides as we move
The black dog clumsily swims
Resting swans flock to smoking clouds
Hair slaps my face
Pink petals were destined to soothe

I unclog the doorway
Menthol fills my xylem
Plants manufactured to elevate
His hot breath warms my frozen air
We reach land again and
He throws me off
As if to celebrate

Leave a Reply

