Ecstasy

Taking me through a blue-tinged dream 

Sounds become crisper 

Sights become clearer 

Smiles surround me. 

 

What takes me by surprise is that 

I’m smiling too

 

And this time, it isn’t false. 

 

My body moves strangely

Beautifully 

And my neck and jaw hurt the next day 

 

But I don’t care because 

 

I smiled. 

 

And I don’t care that sweat dripped

My feet tripped

Clothes unzipped 

 

Because 

 

I smiled. 

 

And the blue-tinged dream always ends 

Sounds dull 

Colours fade 

 

But

It always contains a smile too 

 

For one brief moment 

 

When my dream becomes blue. 

 

Leave a Reply

